National Law School of India University, Bangalore

The National Law School of India University came into existence through the National Law School of India University Act. It signified the efforts by the Judiciary, the Bar Council of India, the Karnataka Bar Council, the Bangalore University and the Government of Karnataka. The Law School has a campus of its own, located in Nagarbhavi standing over twenty-three acres. Since 1991, it is a fully residential university.

The Chief Justice of India is the Chancellor of the University. The Chairman, Bar Council of India, is the Chairman of the General Council. The Act confers complete administrative and academic autonomy. The regular academic activities began on 1st July, 1988. Twenty-four batches have completed their studies here. The Law School has undertaken many research projects.

The National Law School has exchange programmes with the National University of Singapore, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University, Canada and Buceuius Law School, Germany. A number of professors and judges from the U.S.A., Canada, U.K., Australia, Singapore, Hong Kong, China, South Africa, Malaysia and New Zealand have visited and interacted with, and even taught, at the Law School. Faculty members of the Law School are also involved in the organisation of programmes for and the teaching of officers belonging to the administrative, postal and other services. The Law School today has many research and extension centres and a number of Endowment Chairs.



Courses Offered

B.A.LL.B. (Hons.) | 5 Years Integrated Degree | UG Programme
Doctor of Laws (LLD) | Research Degree Programme
Master of Laws (LLM) | 1 Year | PG Programme
  • Business Laws
  • Human Rights Laws
M.Phil (Master of Philosophy) | Research Degree Programme
Master of Public Policy (MPP) | 2 Years | PG Programme
PhD | Research Degree Programme


  • Above fees are 1st year fees including refundable deposits.
  • Ranking
    NIRF 2018:
    Law : 1 | NLUs : 1

    Nearest Railway Station :
    Bangalore City Railway Station, Bengaluru (9km)
    Nearest Airport :
    Kempegowda International Airport, Bengaluru (45km)

    About City

    Bangalore, officially known as Bengaluru, is the capital of the Indian state of Karnataka. The city was founded by Kempe Gowda- a feudal ruler under the Vijayanagara Empire. Bangalore is sometimes referred to as the "Silicon Valley of India" (or "IT capital of India") because of its role as the nation's leading information technology (IT) exporter. Indian technological organisations ISRO, Infosys, Wipro and HAL are headquartered in the city. The city also houses the Kannada film industry.

    All the major areas of city faces heavy traffic as metro(Known as Namma Metro) connnectivity throughout the city is under development. Major transports in city are buses operated by BMTC, auto-rickshaws and private cabs.

    Due to its high elevation, Bangalore usually enjoys a more moderate climate throughout the year, although occasional heat waves can make summer somewhat uncomfortable.

    Institute Website