All India Institutes of Medical Sciences

The All India Institutes of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) are a group of autonomous public medical colleges of higher education. They are the highest regarded college for medical and dental studies, all over the country.

These institutes have been declared by an Act of Parliament as Institutes of National Importance. This entitles them as an autonomous institute, by virtue of which it awards its own degrees and doctorates. AIIMS Delhi, the fore-runner parent excellence institution, was established in 1956. They are the apex healthcare institutes under the aegis of Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India.

Read More

AIIMS New Delhi is governed by the All India Institute of Medical Sciences Act, 1956. The All India Institute of Medical Sciences (Amendment) Bill, 2012, was introduced in the Lok Sabha on August 27, 2012. This bill replaced the Ordinance which allowed the six AIIMS-like institutes to become operational from September 2012. Lok Sabha passed the AIIMS (Amendment) Bill, 2012 on August 30, 2012. The proposed measure will help the Centre change the status of the six new AIIMS registered under the Indian Societies Registration Act to be autonomous body corporate on the lines of the existing AIIMS in Delhi. AIIMS (Amendment) Bill, 2012 was introduced in Rajya Sabha on September 3, 2012 and was passed on September 4, 2012.

The present functioning AIIMS are located in New Delhi, Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh), Raipur (Chhattisgarh), Bhubaneswar (Odisha), Rishikesh (Uttarakhand), Jodhpur (Rajasthan) and Patna (Bihar). The proposed ones will be constructed at Mangalgiri (Andhra Pradesh), Nagpur (Maharashtra), Gorakhpur (Uttar Pradesh), Kalyani (West Bengal), Changsari (Assam), Vijay Pur (Jammu and Kashmir), Awantipora (Jammu and Kashmir), Bhatinda (Punjab), Bilaspur (Himachal Pradesh), Madurai (Tamil Nadu), Deoghar (Jharkhand), Hyderabad (Telangana) and two more at Bihar and Gujarat with the cities currently undecided.

Show less